How to turn an below average robotics program into a great robotics program?

I am a captain on team 4549, the question I have to ask is how to build a good support structure for our team, so in my time as captain, when I have a chance in changing the program i can make as positive of an impact as possible.

(I am a sophomore as of 2021-2022 school year)

7 Likes

I think personally for us our priority isn’t our bot. It’s our attitude and gracious professionalism. Once we finally got comradery (mostly from emotionally scarring bus rides) and started acting like a team we got a lot better and it truly turned the program into someplace fun to be.
Team meals and other team activities helped with this. The first few weeks we all sat in established cliques but now we move around and are friends with everyone. In my opinion big teams make this hard so teams that are 20 members or so are ideal for team building.

12 Likes

I am also trying to focus on the team building aspect of that we have 7 members and outside of the team no one really knows we exist in our town so recruiting is hard.

3 Likes

I’d simply just start off with a consistent meeting schedule. If you are a school team maybe evens see if you can meet weekends. It doesn’t have to be anything crazy. If you and your students truly listen to each other and maintain involvement and excitement, you will build a great robot. Maybe not a winning robot but one you will learn from. Our first in seasons in was at the at home challenge. This was because performance in this game solely depended on the effort your team put in. My brother and I would spend 40 hours a week plus at the build site trying to perfect our challenges. There was no interference from mishaps at competitions or other teams. Sure you lose a lot of the experience but you will also learn perseverance and resilience.