Hypothetical auto proggraming method

I am not a programmer, so I was wondering if the idea I had would even be plausible or worthwhile. In many video games the cpu will record your key presses and other various actions you make with a d-pad. Example the Fifa soccer app can replay what you just did on the game and show what motions you did with your finger on the screen. Forza 3 also has the capability of when you are using a racing wheel and pedal set to replay what you did on screen, and move the steering wheels accordingly to what you did.
This leads me to the idea:
Have a driver drive the autonomous mode on the practice field. While he is doing this, record the key presses and d-pad movements. Then the programming team for could write a program that just sends the 10 seconds of commands that the driver did to the robot for the autonomous. It would be a quick way to make a deadly autonomous.
I think this could lead to so many more variations for autonomous if it actually worked.

Is it actually possible for this to be done? I am not a programmer so I would assume that this would take a lot of programming to actually make it work. Being a driver myself and having to set up for autonomous it would be great to be able to just go spend a minute on the practice field and fix the autonomous between matches if it doesn’t work.

That is actually a brilliant idea and it is possible.

You’d have to devise a method for recording what buttons (and joystick positions) are pressed and for how long, then find a way to read that in order during autonomous.

This could be as simple as saving everything to a logfile(like an excel file) and having the first column be time, the second column be if a was pressed (1 or zero) 2nd be b, 3rd could be y position of a joystick.

This is a brilliant idea.

While this sounds great in theory, robots don’t do the same thing twice without software support.