These new rules are intentionally left vague. How can the understanding be clear if we cannot get straight answers on real situations that have come up in the past and will come up in the future?
Leaving interpretation of, by FIRST’s own admission, an intentionally vague rule, up to the LRI is borderline irresponsible. This ambiguity is compounded by the timeframe in which these decisions are likely to be made (likely after alliance selection and during playoffs).
Here is what we have determined could happen, according to FIRST’s QnA:
- TEAM A and TEAM Z select TEAM B to join their alliance
- TEAM B begins constructing a blocker to complete the needs of their alliance, with the support of TEAM A and TEAM Z.
- TEAM C watches TEAMS A, B and Z working and photographs the process.
- TEAM B gets re-inspected by a the LRI with their blocker
- TEAM A, B and Z play and win their QF matches
- TEAM C then delivers a credible report of an I1 violation to the LRI with photographs of TEAM A, B and Z working on TEAM B’s robot (https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/24)
- LRI investigates the matter by pulling aside students and a mentor from TEAM B and asks them some questions about the blocker (https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/19)
- TEAM B answers questions and asserts they built the blocker, in their honest assessment (https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/19)
- LRI reviews pictures from TEAM C and determines that TEAM B may not be honest when they say they built the blocker (https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/19)
- LRI consults local Event Organizer and calls HQ (https://frc-qa.firstinspires.org/qa/19)
- LRI determines that TEAM B is being dishonest, due to the picture of TEAM A, B, and Z, which beyond reasonable doubt in the LRI’s mind shows that TEAM B did not in fact build the blocker to a sufficient level, and is attempting to exploit loopholes in I1
- TEAM A, B and Z are DQed from both QF matches and is out of the tournament
- LRI determines that TEAM B is being honest, and they likely built enough of the blocker to satisfy I1
- TEAM A, B and Z are still in the tournament
Which call was the right call? What other information do you need?