I just wanted to say hi..

I’m new at the whole animation thing. Its a bit scary (:yikes: ) I guess, but I’m getting better at it. My team is also new to FIRST (team 1011) and I just wanted to say hello to everyone and wonder if you had any advice for a rookie animation team.

Advice - Since it’s your first year , depending on how many people you have working on your animation and such, keep it simple. I can’t stress this enough. Don’t spend all 6 weeks working on one scene, just keep the idea simple enough that you will be able to do it and still have time to Render and such. This is our team’s 3rd year, but we only have 2 people this year working on Animation, so we have to keep it simple… we’re going to be cutting really close too. Good Luck.

Thank you, I’ll keep that in mind. We already have most of it done, at least the basic parts of our storyline. I hope we can just get it all together and running soon. :stuck_out_tongue:

Leave yourself at least a full week to do the rendering. Last year, we put together an animation, started it rendering and then found out it would finish 3-4 days after the deadline. This is especially important if your computer isn’t state-of-the-art. For example, if you look through ChiefDelphi, you’ll run accros a scene from a field that the creator said took 4 minutes to render. That scene is fairly simple (bridge, tubs, field, etc). At four minutes/frame with 30fps and and 30s animation, it would take almost 2.5 days just to render a full animation!

*Originally posted by rbayer *
**For example, if you look through ChiefDelphi, you’ll run accros a scene from a field that the creator said took 4 minutes to render. That scene is fairly simple (bridge, tubs, field, etc **
And that was on a dual P3 1 GHz with 1 gig of RAM

okay, thank you for that too. I’ll have to keep that in mind as well. Thank you everyone.^:D

one more thing…