Ideas for automatically balancing the robot on the charge station?

Hi, I’m on the programming subteam for my FRC team and I wanted to know what ideas everybody has for getting the robot on the charge station while keeping it level. We’re looking into using gyro inputs in some manner to calibrate the robot when it is on the platform automatically. Any help is greatly appreaciated

3 Likes

Start by getting yourself one of these:

This will enable you to sense the direction and magnitude of the force being put on your robot that is causing it to roll off the CS and compensate with a sufficient amount of motor power to move back to where you want to be (wish I could help out more but I’m not a programmer, I’m sure more will chime in below!).

2 Likes

Not OP but I was wondering if the NavX MXP is capable of this aswell.
NavX mxp

Its a little bit more difficult to get a NavX working reliably in my experience.

1 Like

We already have this product and we were planning to use it

2 Likes

At the simplest level, you can get the angle of the robot from your pigeon or navx, and use a proportional controller to increase power to the drive motors until you get within some deadband of level. This may work on its own, or you may need to add an integral component to help once the error gets close to zero. Look into PID controllers on the WPILib docs as a starting point, and come back to ask questions once you have reviewed that.

2 Likes

There are two elements as far as I can tell:

• Location/Localization - Can you get to the station? Are you on the station?
  • Level - are you perpendicular to gravitational down?
    If you are not level and you drive to fix that you may drive off the ramp so the range is constrained. That is the classical inverted pendulum on a cart. But there is a dead-band in the middle of the charge station rocking mechanism (see here).
7 Likes

Can you expand on this? Are you speaking in general, or are you speaking to getting angle or magnitude?