If set screws suck . . .

Please forgive me, as I’m new to this power transmission stuff. . .

If set screws inhale audibly, what other methods are there of attaching a sprocket to a shaft? Or, in my case, to a timing pulley?

I guess I could just bolt the sprocket right into the side of the timing pulley, but I was curious if there were some other methods that are common?

Here is something i got from a recent Indiana FIRST Workshop that we held last weekend…All this information came from Andy Bakers presentation so maybe he can add/explain even more…

GEAR AND SPROCKET MOUNTING

Shaft to gear or sprocket
-Trantorque (for medium to low loads)
-Collar clamp on a split hub
-Drill and tap through on a hub
-Dutchman’s pin
-Weld
-NEVER use set screws for this

Gear or sprocket to wheel
-Skyway- pin whell to large shaft, or capture spokes w/ a hub
-Using 3-4 holes, attach to wheel, close to perimeter

:slight_smile:

you might want to ask Andy Baker from the TechnoKats. They have wonderful way of doing this.

check the white papers or click onthis design

one thing that you can do it just grind down the shaft to put a flat on it. it will make the set screw hold a lot better

A Woodruff key (a semicircular piece of the end of rod, to fit into the slot cut into the side of your shaft) will do a nice job if you have a milling machine, as will a longitudinal milled slot and a length of square keystock. Both require a key way in the hub of sprockets and gears, which is why so many have them. Another way, is the split hub which pulls the gear / sprocket / pulley onto itself to provide the locking force. :cool:

You could always use Locktite (sp?) :smiley:

Just adding a little about using key way…