Illegal Climb Method?

I was just wondering…

Does the entire robot have to be above the first horozontal on the tower before you can reach up and grab onto the second horozontal before you pull yourself (the robot) up?

Any help would be appreciated(:

From what I’ve read in the rules, there is no rule stating that the robot is required to be above the first horizontal to be allowed to hook onto the second horizontal. See 3.1.5.2 Climb Points for reference. Though, please feel free to correct me if I am wrong.

I don’t think so. As per 3.1.5.2 you cannot be in “contact” with more than 2 levels simultaneously. I don’t know if being in the air of the scoring level is considered contacting it.

you’re not allowed to be in contact with more than two levels at one time, the ground is level 0. Therefore your robot can’t be touching the ground when it goes for level 2

Right, my understanding of it is that the robot must be fully supported by level 1 before moving up to level 2, and then supported only by level 2 to move to level 3.

Okay, I understand what you all are saying, but now my question is, does the ground count as level 0?

If you look at this image (located in 3.1.5.2):

http://frc-manual.usfirst.org/upload/images/2013/1/Figure3-4.jpg

It clearly states Level 0 is the ground, although it is slightly elevated above the actual field.

Right. Look at figure 2-7 and 2-8. The PYRAMID is actually on a 1/4"-3/8" lip above the rest of the play field because of floor protectors they installed. This platform is level 0.

I wrote that quesiton wrong. What I mean was, If the ground level counts for level 0 that means we can’t reach for level 1, be suspended between level 0 and level 1 and still reach up for level 2…correct?

In the game manual, the ground level is defined as level 0.

I apologize for having such a vague answer. DMFrank is most certainly correct; As I said Level 0 was slightly above the playing field. You can grab onto Level 1, but your robot must NOT be touching Level 0 before moving onto Level 2.

If your grabbing device goes over bar 1, and part of it is in level 2, and your wheels are on the floor, is your robot in 3 areas? I cannot find it anywhere in the rules, and the Q&A is not open. I also figured it was along the lines of this thread, so I figured I would ask here.

Check out this thread here.

You can be in three areas, you just can’t touch things in more than two at a time, or out of order.

This is incorrect.

This is incorrect.

Why?

Please read the rules and the thread that was previously linked to.

3.2.4.2 CLIMB Points
A ROBOT has CLIMBED its PYRAMID if it contacts the PYRAMID in
A. sequential order (Level 0, 1, 2, 3) during ascent and
B. no more than two (2) Levels simultaneously.

emphasis mine.

The rules explicitly state that the process of climbing is defined as the process of contacting the three (four, if you include the floor) levels of the pyramid sequentially, with the caveat that you may not contact the pyramid in more than two levels simultaneously. The elevation of those components of the robot not in contact with any level is irrelevant to determining whether a climb is legal or not; they are only relevant when assessing points for climbing.