*Originally posted by ahecht *
**
The refs in NH announced at the driver meeting that no part of their bins could touch the grey zone, but I never saw a case where a human player was DQ’d for just touching the grey area. **
This is NOT true.
It’s true, we announced that no part of a human player could make contact with the grey carpet. ex. a foot/hand/whatever…
However we scored bins exactly the same way they are scored in actual matches. We announced this at the driver meeting as well.
As long as the HP’s place bins so that they are upright, and partially touching the colored carpet, they are considerred legally placed. Though, it is important that the HP’s themselves did not touch the grey carpet while accomplishing this.
As far as I know, this was the same across the country. We certainly saw none of the “wedging” that occured elsewhere.
**I know FIRST is going to great lengths to keep consistencies between the regionals, and make sure everyone has a fair and positive experience. ** The head referees had conference calls before and after each regional, to ensure that a standard was set, and maintained throughout competition.
Personally, I felt the HP rules were a particularly “dangerous” point. I made sure that each and every human player that came through “my” corner of the field knew the official rules, the consequences and how we were calling things. It is a terrible thing to DQ a team for actions during the HP period, unforunately, as posted above, it did happen twice in Manchester.
There is some debate about how this works, and I will clarify.
If a human player spills a bin into the grey zone, they have violated a rule, and will receive a 2 flag violation at the end of the HP period. If they successfully retrieve the bins, and orient them correctly before HP period ends, there are no penalties.
Should the HPs step into the grey zone, that is another 2 flag violation. The tricky part comes when they couple these…
If a human player steps into the grey zone, and retrieves a bin from this zone, they have no violated a rule and directly affected the outcome score. This results in an immediate DQ of the violating team.
This is what happened in Manchester. Twice, and both times it sucked to make the call, but the rules are quite clear on this…
I have re-read the rules, and I believe that there is no rule that’s wording specifically forbids “wedging”. The spirit of the HP rules is directed at preventing just such HP-“opponent robot” interraction. (So said Woodie during conversation in NH).
The best defense against this for now, is to make an autonomous mode that starts farther back in the grey area, our of reach of HPs. While this could cost a few seconds of time, it would protect a robot from such problems.
Hopefully FIRST will make a ruling on this before week 2, and inform the head referees accordingly.
In closing…
As a coach, I will never ask my HP’s to perform such “wedging”. If we need to use such a move to beat our opponents, perhaps they deserve to defeat us.