I'm an MIT Admissions Officer & longtime FIRST person, AMA.

Came here to read about the game hints, realized there might be some use in this forum, even at this relatively late hour in the admissions season.

Hi, I’m Chris Peterson. I’ve been involved with FIRST as a student, mentor, and advisor since 2002, and on ChiefDelphi for almost as long. I’m currently an Assistant Director of Admissions at MIT, where I focus on our recruitment and evaluation of students with exception academic achievement and technical talent.

I don’t post on CD so much anymore but I’d be happy to help anyone in this community think about MIT specifically and college in general. We have a lot of basic stuff answered at http://mitadmissions.org but if you have anything else you want to BS about I’m happy to do so!

Wish I could have talked to you when I applied last year!

Hi Chris! A few questions…
How much does it benefit students to have an activity like FRC on their college app, as opposed to something less intense?
What’s the best way to show the impact of my FIRST experience on an application to colleges that may not be as familiar with FIRST as MIT is?
I’m not sure if you’re allowed to disclose this, but I’ll ask anyway - what percentage of recent MIT freshman classes has had FIRST on their resumé?

Thanks!

Hi Chris,

I applied to MIT Early Action this year, and had my application deferred. It has always been my dream to go to MIT, so I am looking to give the February updates my best shot. Do you have any tips on what to include in this? Is there anything that really stands out in admissions?

Thanks!

Sorry! I made one of these a few years ago too but not last year, I guess. To be truthful, I don’t lurk in CD much anymore outside of build season, but we have a community of our own over at mitadmissions.org.