Installing VSCode WPILib extensions on Linux Manjaro(Gnome)

I am struggling with the installation of the WPILib extension on my laptop using Manjaro(Gnome). I’m pretty new in the Linux environment. One of the few things I learned is that Manjaro isn’t Debian based. Unfortunately the instruction on the WPILib website was only for Ubuntu https://docs.wpilib.org/en/latest/docs/getting-started/getting-started-frc-control-system/wpilib-setup.html.

I understood that the process was the same for every other debian based OS. I tried using the terminal to create the directories and move the folder to the directory. That’s where the problem started. I made my research and couldn’t find anything useful. I tried the --help command hoping that it would help but I didn’t really understood what the commands were meaning. I would love to learn how Linux work properly. I hope anyone has ever used Manjaro for programming in FRC and could help me in the process of getting my VSCode working on my Manjaro Laptop.

Most of those instructions should work fine, you’ll just need to download VSCode from the Arch Linux/Manjaro repositories using pacman. (and the last command won’t work but that only matters if you want to do simulation, though I’m sure you could find the equivalent package for Arch with a quick search)

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Visual_Studio_Code is probably the most helpful page if you’re having trouble with VSCode itself. The Arch Wiki is one of the best resources for Linux tools in my opinion, and even though you’re not on Arch itself, Manjaro is based on Arch so you will have almost all of the same packages.

1 Like

Outside of how to install VSCode, the rest of the steps are identical across pretty much any Linux Distribution.