Interactive Debugger/Monitor

I am a spoiled professional programmer. I spend a lot of my day in a source level debugger. I miss that when I am working with the team on programming the robot.

I was wondering if anyone had tried to build a debugger for the FIRST robot?

Is anyone interesting in pursuing a debugger (or in this case what would be more correctly called a monitor)?

The one thing that would be very useful that I’ve not been able to work out is break points. In order to create a break point, the changes have to be inserted into the code. As far as I can tell, the code is in a read-only area (I actually think its eeprom) so I’m not sure it’s even possible.

If the problem of break points can be fixed, I think we solve the rest of the monitor.

Any one have ideas or suggestions?

…Duane

Frequent (and intelligent) use of printf’s.

Its really all you need.

Although I don’t have names or links now, I know there are a few simulators, of sorts, that accept a hex file and will output the pwm and other data according to (very limited) input. These are pretty old though, and not too advanced. Your best bet for testing things, if you don’t have access to a full size bot, is a Robovation kit.

I don’t think breakpoints are doable without support from IFI in a Master Code update. The Master processor’s watchdog timer will time out and freeze the whole controller if you stop in the user code for any appreciable amount of time. And as far as I know, we don’t have any direct inputs into the master controller to do anything about this. I suppose you’d have to somehow modify your code to stop processing user functions and code, but continue looping and updating control values… Mostly it sounds incredibly complicated and quite likely to break any fragile code you happened to be trying this on.