Interesting answer from FIRST

This was an interesting answer to a question about damage to the carpet poted on #14. It said…
If the pushee gets tipped a bit and something
snags on the carpet that would not have contacted the carpet had the
robot not been tipped, then that’s a Referee’s judgement. Hopefully,
a Referee would see this happening and stop the pushing and “right”
the tipped robot.
*

My QUESTION is as I see it the Referee will stop the game and “RIGHT” the Robot that has been tiped over??? Is that how you read it???

Nick237

I think the idea is that if the robot is at an angle (not flipped) and digging in the carpet, causing damage the ref can put it back down parallel

seems like its only if the one robot is at an angle and not going any farther (all energy goes into wrecking carpet rather than flipping robot)

makes sense to me.

Doesnt sound like they are going to be “righting” flipped robots in general though.

Sorry Im tired and I know full well this post makes no sense.

Perhaps they meant that the referee would stop the pushing, which would remove the pushing force; which in itself will right the robot.