Internships

Anyone intern(ed) anywhere as a highschool student? Is there a lot of opportunities to intern in the technology field? Like robots and programming? I have only found stuff having to do with biology and chemistry… I heard theres some at JPL, will check that out.

I won an internship here in Florida for a company called BBM Structural Engineering, its for 4 weeks this summer. I had a second possibility that a previous sponsor told me about and hooked me up with a name. Its with a company called Caylex Architectural Fabrication. However I don’t think that one worked out to well since I never got a call back.

Just look around go to some place you find interesting, could be a sponsor, you never know what will happen until you ask.

Andrew

Just emailed at lady at JPL about the internships, IDK if the internships will be more like Astro Camp style, you know the highschool lab stuff, or actual hands on work or even like slave work…

I am a high school intern at Jabil Circuit in Florida. I have interned as a Manufacturing Engineer (programed pick and place machines, setup work-flows/work-cells), and as Electrical Engineer (deciding component placement on the board/basic circuit building). pays $8:50 an hour 40 hour work week during the summer, 10-20 hour work week during the school year.

I’m a junior in high school. I was offered an internship job at the Connecticut Science Center, but I can’t take it yet because I have to be 18. I will SURELY do it when I’m old enough though. It’s for marketing, which is really cool because I might be interested in it.

See? And they said FIRST was all pop rivets and duct tape.

Summer before Junior year I was an intern for Intuitive Surgical (creators of the da Vinci surgical system) working on their controls system.

Summer before Senior year I continued working on a similar project at Newark Beth Israel Medical Center and NJIT and also prototyped a next gen smart phone with an HTC affiliate.