Is there a way to send HID commands to a device attached to the USB port on the RoboRio?

Hi, I have a device I would like to connect to the RoboRio to enable and disable USB cameras (it is a YepKit YKUSH). It can be sent a 6 byte string to turn on/off the power to the USB ports on the hub, this way only one camera will be active at once and minimise challenges with Rio memory and performance. The Vendor ID and Product ID’s are known, we just need to send 6 bytes to the device and receive a 6 byte response (can be thrown away). Any ideas folks? I have seen that the Serial Port system can be used with the USB, however it looks like it is looking for a “real” serial port to be there (ie a USB --> RS232 adapter)…

I am new to this and we may not need this, however I am interested in getting this setup anyway.

Thanks for your help.

I don’t know about your question specifically, but can’t you use this instead? https://docs.wpilib.org/en/latest/docs/software/vision-processing/introduction/using-multiple-cameras.html

Thanks Fletch, however I was told that the two servers starting up really reduced the video quality last year. I am trying to sort out a way for this to be overcome…

First, the link I posted has a section on how to define multiple video sources for a single CameraServer instance and toggle between them. I’m not sure you can even have multiple CameraServer instances.

In either case, I doubt that having multiple feeds on the Rio directly affected your video quality. If anything, it overused CPU, which caused the framerate to drop (resolution is a configured property and won’t change). It also could have been the bandwidth limit on the field (make sure to do some testing with your radio configured with the “BW Limit” checkbox enabled.

If CPU was your issue, I suspect you were doing at least one of the following:

1. doing onboard processing of the image (not simply feeding it back to the DS)
  2. incorrectly loading multiple camera sources