In rule G301 it says in part C, “attaching to (including the use of vacuum or hook fasteners to anchor to the FIELD carpet…”
So is using vacuum suction only illegal on the carpet or is it illegal use on field elements as well?
As a note, here’s the wording for the rule in the 2019 manual, where robots did use vacuum suction for things like climbers and it was legal. (No mention of vacuums)
In 2019 the rules specifically excluded the HAB zone from A-D. This year, I would imagine that a Q&A would clarify it; however, in my opinion, the other field elements aren’t explicitly excluded in A-D, and therefore designing for it has the potential to be outlawed in a team update.
The only thing excluded from that list of prohibitions is Game Pieces, which are the Cone and the Cube. (And they’re only excluded from a subset of the actions.)
Therefore, attaching to anything that is NOT a cone or cube, except as specifically noted, will end up being a penalty.
As noted, the 2019 rules excluded the Hab, so using suction was legal that year. This year, not so much.