Issue in crossing your own defenses

First I am going to quote the rule so that people don’t need to look for this in the manual.

3.1.3 DEFENSES and the OUTER WORKS

The OUTER WORKS impede the passage of ROBOTS and BOULDERS into the COURTYARD. ROBOTS

move BOULDERS across the OUTER WORKS into the COURTYARD one-at-a-time.

Each DEFENSE starts the MATCH with two (2) STRENGTH (a measure of progress towards the

completion of an objective). Each time a DEFENSE is CROSSED by a ROBOT, its STRENGTH is

decreased by one (1). When a DEFENSE’S STRENGTH reaches zero (0), the DEFENSE is DAMAGED.

The STRENGTH of a DEFENSE is indicated by DEFENSE lighting as described in Section 2 (2.2.2.1

DEFENSES). Once four (4) out of an ALLIANCE’S five (5) DEFENSES have been DAMAGED, the

ALLIANCE’S OUTER WORKS are BREACHED.

2016 FIRST ROBOTICS COMPETITION || GAME MANUAL || Section — 3 Game || V0 || PAGE 3

A DEFENSE is CROSSED by a ROBOT when that ROBOT

■ starts free of contact with the DEFENSE and completely in the NEUTRAL ZONE

■ traverses the DEFENSE such that its BUMPERS go fully between the adjacent SHIELDS/GUARDRAIL,

and

■ ends up fully contained by the opponent’s COURTYARD.

ROBOTS can also receive AUTO points for REACHING a DEFENSE. A DEFENSE is REACHED when,

at the end of the AUTO period, any part of a ROBOT’s BUMPERS are within the opponent’s OUTER

WORKS. Once a ROBOT CROSSES a DEFENSE in AUTO, any additional DEFENSES that ROBOT

REACHES or CROSSES during the AUTO period will not decrease DEFENSE STRENGTH nor contribute

points to the ALLIANCE.

according to this would it not be possible to cross your own defense, and proceed to drive across the field into your opponents courtyard through one of their defenses scoring two defenses at the same time even if this gets them closer to a breach it allows you to limit their points from crossing defenses. If there is an issue directly in the rules please post here and let me know, if you aren’t quoting the rules and saying that it doesn’t work your aren’t being productive with your response.

No, because not only do you have to

■ starts free of contact with the DEFENSE and completely in the NEUTRAL ZONE

you also have to

■ ends up fully contained by the opponent’s COURTYARD.

.