Issues getting a falcon500 to function

This year my team is going to use falcon500s for our drivetrain, and I’m working on testing the code for them. I’m a programmer and I don’t know much about electrical, so I might not refer to things properly. I’ve been testing code on a test bot that just has one falcon500 and nothing else. I don’t know if it’s wired correctly, but it seems like the can wires go from the rio to a victor to the falcon then end at a pneumatic control unit, and the red and black wires are connected to the PDP. I don’t know if the falcon needs to be set up in some specific way to get an id or anything, but I do have the phoenix tuner software if I need it. The only code I have for falcon500s at the moment is set up for a drivetrain with 4 falcons, and I don’t know if that means it wouldn’t work with only one hooked up. I’m able to connect to the robot, deploy code, and enable the robot, so I know that isn’t the issue.

I can take pictures of the robot if anyone needs it, and the code I’m using is below.
https://github.com/IcedJavaRobotics/2022-Rapid-React

I believe your CAN wires need to terminate at the PDP. If not, you need a terminating resistor https://www.andymark.com/products/can-terminating-resistor#:~:text=Product%20Overview-,The%20CAN%20terminating%20resistor%20is%20used%20to%20terminate%20the%20can,FRC%20components%20use%20to%20communicate.&text=These%20two%20wires%20must%20be,Distribution%20Panel%20to%20do%20so.
You can buy the resistor from any retailer.

At the very least you need to know the Falcon’s CAN ID to address commands to it.
Use Phoenix Tuner to find and check the Falcon.
That’ll also tell you the CAN bus is working or not.
Don’t use a CAN ID of zero, that’s the factory default for all Falcons and they all should have unique CAN IDs.

1 Like