JAVA 101 help

As a complete novice with JAVA I am trying some sample tests to get some sort of handle on how to program in this language.

Please see the below code
#################################

import java.util.Scanner;

public class makeitwork {

static Scanner scanner = new Scanner(System.in);

public static void main(String] args) {

Boolean alarm = false;
	System.out.println("What time 0-24");
	Integer clock = Integer.parseInt(scanner.nextLine());

System.out.println("Door open 'T' or 'F'");
	String door = (scanner.nextLine());

System.out.println("Test combo 0000-9999");
	String combo = (scanner.nextLine());

System.out.println("#1-t-"+clock+"-d-"+door+"-c-"+combo+"-a-"+alarm);

if (clock < 5){
		System.out.println("clock<5");
	}
	if (clock == 5){
		System.out.println("clock = 5");
	}
	if (clock >5 && clock <24){
		System.out.println("clock > 5 and < 24");
	}
	if (clock >5 || clock <24){ // watch out for this one :) it only fails with 24
		System.out.println("clock > 5 or < 24");
	}
	if (clock >=23 && clock <=24 || clock>= 0 && clock <= 3){
		System.out.println("clock 11pm to 3 am");
	}
	// all those integer functions seem to work on clock.

// lets see what work for strings
	if (door == "t"){
		System.out.println("It's a t:)");
		}
		else{
			System.out.println("Don't know-"+door+"-");
		}

} //end of main

}// end of public

##############################################
The integer functions seem to work just as expected but when I try the same thing with what I think is a string it does not work at all. The print will always be “Don’t know-”+door+"-" result.

So my question(s) are;
What am I doing wrong?

Where in the “eclipse” enviroment can I find example help on functions?
When using the ‘Help’ function in eclipse what does one do to get a list functions?

Currently I am looking for way of finding things out about a string such as;
1)it’s length
2)how to strip a string apart one charater at a time and search for delimiters etc.
for example;