Jr High in FRC

Hey everyone,
I am a coach for an FRC team in a very small area and am having a difficult time getting team members to commit. I know of several Jr high kids that would absolutely love the opportunity to build a robot. I remember reading somewhere or being told that it was legal for Jr High kids to be on the team as long as they did not drive at the competitions. Is this true or have things changed? I could not find any info on the FIRST website.

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Your information is slightly too restrictive.

The only restriction on age in FRC is that drivers (and human players and technicians) must be pre-college students. They have yet to decide that there’s a minimum age for team membership. I’ve been known to joke that if you can find a newborn baby that can wear safety glasses and handle the controls, it’s perfectly legal…

There’s a full team in Texas from a middle school. And I know that 330 once had the same driver for something like 6 years, starting when he was in middle school.

12 Likes

FWIW, we had two 8th graders on the team this year, and ran into no issues with FIRST – one was even on driveteam for part of our last offseason event in 2019.

1 Like

I known we’ve had multiple pre-HS kids on my teams before. The only issue that popped us was one caused by the school, not allowing non-local kids to be in the workshop. We ended up getting that fixed though. So yeah, just make sure your school (or whoever) is okay with it and there is no liability issues.

I mean I joined my team in 8th because my friend (Junior) brought me in and I believe two of his friends started in 6th grade.

1 Like

See this thread for more info - it has helpful information in this regard. Good luck to you and your team in this tough recruitment period!