Lane divider technicalities

If a robot is stradling a lane divider or finish line, can it back up, or is it considered to be in the next area? This came up in regard to a failed attempt to knock a track ball down. Can the robot reposition under the ball or does it need to go around another lap?

You don’t count as having crossed a line going counter-clockwise (and thus being in the next section of the track) until you have completely crossed it. The penalty for going clockwise occurs when you break the plane of a line. Does that answer your question?

Thanks! Thats what I needed.