Laser Cutter or Welding Machine

Let me start this off by saying that I am somewhat of a novice when it comes to machining and am not very experienced. As a background, we already have a CNC mill that works decently with reasonable accuracy and speed.

My team has been discussing getting a laser cutter for a while to increase prototyping speed and (apparently) ease to use compared to a CNC. But now getting a laser welding machine has come into conversation, and our mentor says we can only get one. Another mentor is leaning towards laser welding, but I feel like it won’t be as useful as a laser cutter (again I’m not an expert so I turned to CD :slight_smile: ).

If people could give a recommendation, and maybe a recommendation on a specific product, I would be very happy.

Edit: Our budget is 5k USD.

Laser cutting is 10x more useful

Laser welds are cool, but the problem with welding is that it’s not serviceable in a competition. If it breaks, you don’t have a welder and you need to start adding L brackets and gussets. Which is why I do that from the start

That being said, a regular $3k laser isn’t going to cut metal. It’ll do wood and acrylic (the plastic you shouldn’t use). Its usefulness is basically prototyping things out of wood, as well as making signs and fundraising gadgets. Still, I feel it is more useful than a laser welder for FRC

I have access to both, and I only used the laser cutter last year, but not for any robot parts

7 Likes

Wow, thanks for the quick reply! I never thought about it not being serviceable in competition.

Talking about an Apple and a Orange…

A laser cutter in the 5K range is going to cut MDF, wood, cardboard. and maybe plastic. Potentially great for iterative prototyping. Not so useful for comp bot parts.