LED Ring Light

I am a programmer getting into vision programming and ran into an issue with our ring light. Somehow, the solder came undone when someone was driving the robot and I do not know which pads to solder positive and negative to. Same problem last year and it may have went on fire.

A picture would help. Without one, we don’t even know the model, let alone enough details to guide you in the correct direction.

2 Likes

Since LEDs are diodes, and have at least some level of reverse breakdown voltage (although maybe not full voltage), one approach is to test it. Hook it up to a power supply and gradually increase the voltage in each polarity (e.g. test it at 3V, then swap terminals, then go to 4V, swap terminals, etc) and stop when you see it light up (which tells you you have the right polarity).

1 Like

In addition to its “Light Emitting” function, an LED is also a “Diode”, which means that electricity passes through it in one direction easily, much harder in the other.

• Do you have a multimeter? (If no, skip my post or get one. They’re not that expensive, and rather useful for robotics. Free, if you’re near a Harbor Freight and bring the right coupon.)

• If your meter’s wires are removable, make sure black is in COM (common) or - (negative) and red in +/positive. If these aren’t there, post what your plug-in’s labels look like, and we can provide some guidance.

• Does it have a diode function (symbol like this, but without spaces or quotes):" ─►▌─" ? (if no, skip a bullet, but I haven’t seen one without this in a couple of decades, so look again before skipping)