Limelight usage during matches

Hi my name is Tharun and I am a officer of team 8816. This is our second year using limelight and I was wondering what are the rules of using limelight during the teloperated period. I read in the game manual that we can use PID and Limelight to increase the accuracy of some functions and I was wondering what exactly they mean by this.

1 Like

You can use your limelight in teleop
As long as the sensors used are legal to have on your robot (not radioactive, no wireless communication, etc.) you are free to automate as much or as little of teleop as you want. If you could make the robot drive autonomously the whole match there would be nothing in the rules against it.

2 Likes

As an example, if you can get the angle of your robot from 2 PIDs, you can calculate (triangulate) the exact position of your robot on the field. That would give you range and angle of travel to any other place on the field.

Do note that the retroreflective tape will not be part of the game starting next year, so you’ll probably want to look into apriltags for using limelight in teleop.

4 Likes

Oh did they confirm that? must’ve missed it

1 Like

AprilTags are necessary for triangulation. Otherwise you won’t know which to sources you’ve selected.

IIRC (but I might be wrong), you don’t even need two sources. The Limelight can tell where you are relative to an AprilTag, and the AprilTags are in known positions on the field.

A single AprilTag with a known location on the field is enough to locate yourself. You can get skew, distance, rotation from 1 tag. This is because the tags are printed at a set size as well. Based on the size of the area and the I’d we know which tag it is, where it should be therefore how far away we are from a given point on the field (where the tag is). You could get this with a regular vision target.

The distance up and down, left and right in the image also tell you some distance and strafe information.