Line arrays at regionals?

regional
competition
first

This is my first year actually going to competition, the past few years I never went. I noticed at both Del Mar and Ventura FIRST flew some pretty nice line arrays w/subs. I didn’t see anyone mention them in my searches and was wondering if these were a fairly new thing.
Also on my way back and forth from the pits/queue to the stands I never got to see what brand/model they were, so if anyone could tell me that would be greatly appreciated.

0 Likes

Usually the audio equipment is provided and run by a 3rd party, not directly affiliated with FIRST, which means they might not come here often. Best chance might be to contact the event organizers to get info on who the audio engineers were for the events?

0 Likes

Line arrays are not a new thing in FIRST. I haven’t made notes on what every sound setup has been at the events I’ve been to, but I remember them being present in the Georgia dome, which would make it quite a while ago. Here’s page with a picture showing them: http://techbrick.com/techbrick/Lego/Lego2007/Photos/Photos080419Atlanta/index.html. I have no idea what model they are though.

For the PNW district events (excluding district championship), they don’t use line arrays but I can tell you what kind of subs they have: JBL 518S.

0 Likes

Ahh ok, I ve seen differing setups in the past and assumed that they were contracted out, but after I saw the same exact Line array setup at 2 completely differnet regionals I assumed that FRIST bought/rented their own to keep things consistent and/or to ship with fields.

0 Likes