machine shop horror stories

anybody have any stories of people getting hurt while machining?

any flying chuck keys blinding people, fingers sucked into mills and grinders, etc etc?

Or long hair pulling heads into spinning chucks?

No, no horror stories. We Take Care Here.

I was once machining 1/4" polycarb on an open CNC router, I think at about 6k RPM. I was cutting out a pocket about 4"x6" square. Forgot to put in screws to hold down the scrap piece. When it finished the cut, the endmill grabbed it and flung it 40 feet across the shop so fast I didn’t even see it go. I felt the wind off of it as it flew by. Lucky that’s all I felt. It was completely shattered when I found it. Polycarb, shattered.

Be careful out there…

I remember about 3 years ago(I was a Freshman at the time), and I was drilling into a piece of diamond plate. Being a Freshman at the time, and not to bright in the machining sense; I didn’t use anything to lock the plate down. To add to this initial dilemma, I unknowingly was drilling a bit too hard into the plate, and ultimately the plate got stuck in the bit, causing the plate to spin with the bit, resulting in my hands getting badly cut.

Fortunately, it has been a few years since my last machining accident and I always let incoming freshmen and members of my past ignorances.

Not a machine shop per say…
I work for an aircraft engine manufacturer, pictures have been circulating around the office this week of an incdent that happened at an air field where a mechanic trying to save his hat got sucked into an engine on wing. I WILL NOT share these pictures, it is worse than you imagine.

Luckily our team has been basically devoid of serious injuries, but there is one former student turned mentor who practically needs to be followed around with a first aid kit for all the minor cuts, scratches, and burns he manages to give himself. I will not give his name as a courtesy.