Making a Scouting app in android development

I’m attempting to make a scouting app for my team for the (hopefully) off season and I’m stuck at making a checkbox list to select a driver skill rating (i.e bad, moderate, good, great) in a checkbox list. I can’t figure out how to lay out or program the checks.

P.S. I’m fairly new at this so examples in code would be very appreciated

What program are you using?

android studio ver. 3.6.3

What language are you using?

Do they have to be checkboxes or can it be a switch?

Here’s some things to get you started. If you have any questions about anything specific we can follow up. You did mention a list with checkboxes, so that’s what I’m outlining, but based on your description of what you want to do it sounds like radio buttons might be what you’re really after (RadioButton and RadioGroup).

1. I’m guessing you started a project already and already have a layout where you want your checkbox list
  2. Open that layout and add a RecyclerView. There should be a “Design” tab at the bottom you can click, and the Palette should be open and you can drag and drop RecyclerView from common. RecyclerView is newer way of doing a ListView (which is in the Legacy part of the Palette). For your purposes a ListView will be fairly similar, if you feel more comfortable with it.
  3. In the Component Tree, make sure your RecyclerView is selected. There should be an Attributes pane open. Drop down “All Attributes” and scroll down to Id. Enter an Id (aka a name to use as a reference in your code). I should note that you can add this all in the xml directly, or do it all from code (bad practice unless you’re intending to obfuscate and secure your views better). So if you find someone else’s xml layout you like, just copy and paste some stuff in.