Making Gears

Well, I’m a bit novice to cad, so whats the easiest way to make gears?

If you actually want to make gears, the easiest way is to cut them from gear stock.

If you want to model them in Inventor, start with a disk-shaped blank, model a tooth shaped cut, and pattern it. To get the cut to look right, experiment with arc shaped edges by adjusting the radius of the arc. To get the cut to actually be right, learn about involute gear teeth by reading a good reference. You can find several good ones online by Googling “involute gear” or something similar.

www.firstcadlibrary.com

Here’s one of the best tutorials that I’ve found; it’s set up in Pro/E Wildfire 2, but as long as you can get Inventor to solve the equations, I think that it could work. It’s heavy on math, but you can scroll down to the solved equations, and implement those without necessarily working through the theory.

This will get you proper gear geometry, suitable for scaling to any size, and for cutting on a machine (such as an EDM, or a maybe even a waterjet or laser). Depending on your computer, and Inventor’s capabilities, it may also take a long time to regenerate that sketch, every time you load the model.

In practice, you don’t necessarily need that sort of precision for many jobs—it’s really up to you, depending on what you need it for, and what tolerances your equipment can hold. In the event that you can deal with slightly imperfect geometry, try GearGen (or here), which will output a gear with small arc segments, rather than a continuous curve, in .dxf format. This can be imported into Inventor, and extruded.

In any event, for simply drawing the gear, you can just pattern an approximately correct tooth (using an extruded cut) around the circumference. It’s also common to just model the gear as a cylinder with the pitch diameter.

in inventor 10
File>New…>Standard.iam>Dropdown on Assembly Panel and Click Design Accelerator>Spur Gears