Math

What Math course is everyone taking? What math do u like the best. personally, I’d have to say Algebra…those were the days, so easy :smiley:
Hermione

Calc 3 last semester, Calc 4 this one. Diff Eqs are my personal favorites.

I’m in my fourth year of Calc right now. My favorite would have to be a tie between Calc II and III because I loved surface and volume integrals. DiffEqs are cool, but the class I’m in is very boring and a little on the slow side.

I’m only in AB Calc, but ignoring the schedule so I can take the BC AP exam. Unfortunately, I’m WAYY behind (stupid robot) - I’m only on e^x stuff.

For most fun, I’d have to say Algebra II, mostly because of the other people in the class. I got a TI-89 in eighth grade (placed 157 in Mathcounts), and used it for half the year. Early in second semester, the other students complained that my curve-setting was caused by my calculator. The teacher (who disagreed) went along with them and let me borrow his 83 for the tests. Yes, my scores dropped, but only by 2%. I no longer set the curves, but I was usually the second-highest.

Also, the other Algebra II classes had bad teachers, and the tests were the same. Thus, they were curved, and I ended up getting 116% on the final exam! :smiley:

I’m also fond of calculus, because it’s so obviously useful!

1.4cos(60)

It says it all. I’m in Alg II/Trig and our system only goes to Calc II and CP (AB exam) Prob & Stat.

Cosines aren’t actually in AlgII/Trig, but you need them to figure bolt patterens when cutting without a rotary device.

What counts as “beyond calculus?” Is that just past the AP calculus test? If so, which one? Does advanced statistics count? What about discrete math or imaginary math?

Yeah everything after the main calculus course. I took stats along with calc this year and I absolutley loved stats :slight_smile: to bad it’s over now
Hermione

Calculus AB was fun. I had a nice teacher and had lots of friends in the class.