Mecanum wheels "circumference" wheels at less than 45 degrees?

Re: Mecanum wheels “circumference” wheels at less than 45 degrees?

Sorry if this has been answered (somewhere) - I’m a complete newbie to “non-traditional wheels” and anything CAD beyond the ancient Mac Super3D.

I’ve googled and not managed to hit the correct string for bringing up this particular bone from the infinite heap of the Internet :slight_smile:

Will a mecanum wheel work if the wheels on the circumference (normally at 45 degrees) are at some other angle? Or two different ones, as there is the angle in the XZ plane and the other in the YZ plane? (RHS, Z as direction of forward movement)

I think (?) the limit (XZ at 90, YZ at 0) would be the outer wheel of an omni wheel set, and only roll horizontally (X axis). But others, like a 30 degree angle for both? Would this create a wheel that would be more efficient (with some definition) in certain directions?

Thanks,
Jim

Yes to all. I don’t know how you would define efficient in that way, but a shallower angle (ie closer to an omni wheel) would increase force along the normal wheel axis.

Think about it like how the rollers come closer to a free roller the closer to perpendicular you get, and closer to an Omni that they get the closer you get to parallel. Technically a mecanum is a rotated Omni.

If I understand your question correctly - your terminology is a little unconventional - the answer is yes, but there are easier ways to do what you’re getting at. Normally you refer to the wheel itself as the wheel, and the “circumference wheels” as rollers.