Mechanical Engineering - A Broad Field

Posted by Chris.   [PICTURE: SAME | NEW | HELP]

Coach on team #308, Walled Lake Monster, from Walled Lake Schools and TRW Automotive Electronics.

Posted on 10/12/2000 7:36 AM MST

Mechanical engineering is a very broad field with a lot of career possibilities. Just look at me. I’m a mechanical engineer working with control systems and signal processing. Some of my major job duties involve writing software.

Anyway, here are some of the disciplines of mechanical engineering and the careers in those fields (help me out if I forget some):

1. Thermo-fluid sciences: internal combustion engines, heating and cooling systems, piping, irrigation, pumps, accoustics, etc.

2. Statics / Structure: frames for autos, bike, motorcycles, moving structural members for suspension, almost anything, really.

3. Dynamics: vehicle dynamics (big now with SUV vehicle stabiliy and anti-rollover), aircraft and spaceship dynamics, kinematics (trajectory planning for spacecraft), etc.

4. Dynamic systems / vibration: accoustics, suspension systems, vibration reduction and control, multi-energy domain systems (ie, electrical systems coupled to mechanical systems coupled to a hydraulic system ex: an electric motor turning a shaft on a pump that pumps fluid), steering, etc.

5. Controls: cruise control, ABS, traction control, thermal system control, aircraft stability, sensing systems, vibration control, etc.

One interesting thing about mechanical engineering is that one end of the spectrum is very different from the other. But this really illustrates how different disciplines of engineerig overlap. Much of the thermal-fluid sciences are also very important in chemical engineering and aerospace engineering. Controls theory is studied in basically all engineering disciplines. Dynamics is big in aerospace eng. and dynamic systems is important in aero as well as EE. Structure and vibration are important in civil engineering.