Media and Outreach

I am a high school freshman and this year, i have joined the high school’s FIRST robotics team. I have been elected as the head of two subgroups, media and outreach. There are about 5-8 people in each subgroup and I need a way to keep them busy. What could I let my team do besides their current role right now?

Role of Media:
Work on website
Weekly updates of social media - Facebook, Twitter, etc.

Role of Outreach:
Plan community service events
Schedule team appearances
Assist with website content
Plan ways for sponsors to meet and interact with the team

ps, our team website is http://team2656.steelcityrobotics.org/wordpress/

Well, your media subteam sounds perfect for FRC’s new New Media Award:

Also, what do Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Pinterest, Flickr, and iPhones have in common? Each was invented after the Website Award – recognizing excellence in student designed, built, and managed team websites – was introduced by FRC. The ways to create and deliver content have grown exponentially over the last ten years, so it’s time to evolve the FRC Website Award. To continue to challenge FRC students, the Website Award has morphed into the New Media Award.

The FRC New Media Award will recognize a team’s creative use of digital media and devices to create and distribute content that is used to promote the team’s profile, achievements, and outreach, along with the FIRST mission. We are working feverishly to ready the New Media Award for the 2013 season. Continue to tune in to the FRC Blog – we’ll keep you posted as the New Media Award takes shape.