Missed G7 Violation?

In our final qualification match one of our opponent robots started as a spy bot… on their OWN half of the field.

This seems to be a clear G7-e violation, “When placed on the FIELD for a MATCH, each ROBOT must be… fully contained by the opposite half of the FIELD from their TOWER.” If it was, the robot should have been disabled all match, right?

In the end, we won, and the robot didn’t seem to be posing too big of a threat. But I hope this mistake (if it is one) doesn’t happen elsewhere.

Los Angeles Regional, qualification match 87. I forgot to ask my drive team/coach what the refs said about this, if they said anything at all.

Video: https://youtu.be/jGgR9CHkGVY?list=PL-TcD7TTX4iXKYJsC5c2vyeErkSR1T73w
Robot in question: 5647

That seems like a pretty silly violation to miss. Unless one of the updates changed that, but I’m pretty sure that rule wasn’t changed.

This seems to be an obvious mistake by the refs, glad it didn’t effect anything.

Disabling the robot should not have been necessary, since moving it would have been a “Quick Fix” the Head ref should have had the team move the bot to the correct position prior to starting the match.

We almost had this happen in one match at Mount Vernon this weekend. You might find it hard to believe, but it’s quite possible to look at a robot and make sure that it’s touching both walls while entirely failing to notice that it’s on the wrong side of the field. :slight_smile:

I talked to our driver, and he said he saw it and thought, “Wait, is that allows? Oh well, whatever.”

If we had driven into them I’m sure the refs would have had an “Oh $#*t!” moment and restarted the match with proper field setup.