Molding Custom Wheels?

I’ve been working on something that I think can only be made the way I designed it by molding. I have no molding experience so I was hoping someone could talk a little about their experience with molding parts. How’s it done? How did it turn out? The only wheels I’ve seen molded before are the AndyMark ones.

This is just for an offseason project idea.

Moldings represent a very large investment, both monetary and in time.

You will need to machine a mold for your wheel. This is not simple, and will cost a LOT of money for you to have a shop make (Likely more time than if you just CNC machined however many wheels you want to make).

You’ll then need someone to injection mold your wheels. This will also be quite expensive.

Molding is really not something you do for onesies and twosies. If you’re getting something injection molded, you’re making thousands of them. Any less, and you cannot justify the cost involved.

If you really want to learn more about molding as an off-season project, and are serious about the endeavor, then go for it!

There’s a lot more concerns about molding, mainly being that production of only a few units is very cost prohibitive when it comes to fabricating the mold, but if you are serious then seek out individuals or companies which fabricate molded parts and ask them. The worst that can happen is that you end up having to make it millable, and the best case is that you’ll have plastic wheels in your hands.

At the very least you can learn more about the injection molding process.

I haven’t looked into it, but I understand that you can make molds with the help of a 3d printer…might cost quite a bit less than CNC machining?

Of course I would just redesign the wheel so it’s easy to make…

Thanks guys, I think I’m going to make another revision of the wheel that can be CNC’d :slight_smile: . I might try to get one done on a rapid prototyper though. That’d be a cool thing to try out (an alum at MIT can do it for me).