Moments that make it worth while.

I’m a senior alumni of team 1230 the lehman lionics and i’ve been mentoring the team since i graduated and my team won NYC playing triple play in 2005. This season has to have been the best season so far that my team has been through, placing 2nd seed in the new york regional and making it to the semi finals of the Long island regional. Our season just ended last weekend and I would like to share a quote that one of my students posted

“we should definitely look back on this day an be proud of what our team accomplished, that even though we didn’t make it to the finals, we graduate knowing how far we brought 1230 and how well we worked with each other to carry the team as far as we did. Though a small team, we were a threat with a roar that was heard by the sea of competitors. What time is it? 1230!”

“What time is it?! 1230!” is our slogan and we have used it for years

The most amazing part about this quote is who it came from, it wasn’t someone from the drive team or the scouting team, just a student who has helped anyway he can and has always been in the stands to cheer or has ran for a battery or has tightened a bolt or has just been there when the team needed him.

Aside from this quote there was one other scene that I would like to share with the community that I was witness too while packing last Saturday. I witnessed my teams main driver and one of the scouts sad but happy, practically crying, not because they lost but because they have been with FIRST since 10 years of age in FLL and getting invited to Japan for a special event in FLL. they had joined my high school specifically for FRC and had been apart of FIRST for 7 long years and now their journey had ended as they hugged each other and said goodbye as “Robo-Brothers”