Multiple Files

Since the default code is made of multiple files, it requires a specific linking script, correct? I am a programmer that can make simple VB, C, C++, and Java programs work but I don’t understand much about coding theory. Can anyone explain what the benefit of multiple files is?

Along that same line, the linker provides a way for a method in one file call a method in another file, right? How are these linking scripts made?

Any answer would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Eric

The main benefit of multiple files is organization!
Technically… every function and call you make slows your program down since current commands are put on hold to the stack and the new function is addressed, things are put to the stack and then taken care of in order.

The multiple files also allow one to split up code for different people to work on as well as allowing you or somebody else to change code rapidly if you can go to a specific file instead of one monster file that you must use search to find areas in.

I cant tell you exactly how linker scripts are done… I know the linker is run and thats about where my knowledge ends.
The linker does have all functions and callings done so they can be called from different files.

Linkers do just as they are named, they link together different files and create an file able to be executed.
They take libraries that you included with the linker script (or the command line), and connect the code so that calls that you make to functions outside of each file actually call the right function and do not call nothing.
They also take each of the object files that was created from the compiler, and connects them in a similar fashion to what was done for the libraries.
And like ‘dm0ney’ said, more files = more organization, and easier to spread the code to multiple people.