Muscle Wire

I was looking at these new (new to me at least) muscle wires. I just wanted to know how well they work.

Specs:
The largest size can pull 4.4 pounds.
Max Wattage: 60w
Can stretch up to 40% or there length

What’s this I hear about the wire being from the Roswell crash!!! j/k

Here’s an awsome video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iXUipbk94gQ&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zzFb8a5TY4&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OozEY0O6zG0&feature=related

Thanks for any feedback.

John,
These have been around for a while. A Motorola engineer showed me an idea about 7 years ago he had for using this design. There are a number of drawbacks but they are pretty cool none the less. 60 watts for the largest size is a tough specification. Hard to get rid of the heat or supply the current but I am sure there are some interesting uses. Fine motor control of actuators is something that jumps to mind.

I’ll start this off by saying that I’m not an expert, but here’s my experience with ‘muscle wire’, aka ‘memory wire’, aka Nitinol. These have deterred me from considering its use in FRC robots, though you may derive different conclusions should you try it yourself. I agree with Al’s comments on heat dissipation; the wire itself loves to get toasty if you use it in heavy loading situations…much like a motor near stall. Altogether, here are the major drawbacks I found:

1.) Heat dissipation to air via direct convection was not so great. My application was underwater robot fin control, so putting the wire in a dissipative gel in a tube that would be constantly cooled by water solved that problem for me. For a FIRST FRC robot, you’re not supposed to have exposed wire, and insulating memory wire to satisfy that requirement will definitely bring about the issue of heat.