My Personal Thanks

In 1999, my then Geophysical Science teacher, Wayne Cokeley, invited me to go watch The then Johnson and Johnson Mid-Atlantic Regional. That was the catalyst that started my Explosion into the culture that is FIRST, to this day, I am a horrible student, the only way I could ever focus on anything math related was if it was applied in some useful form, well FIRST provided me with that application, and I can honestly say that w/o FIRST I would not have made it through high school. When I joined Team 25 my sophomore year, (for those of you keeping track at home that would be 2000) I was really interested in learning about this robot stuff, to me it was all about the bots, unfortunately due to circumstances beyond our control, the students played a limited role, on the production of our robot that year, does that mean, that I wasn’t inspired to continue, nope, it just meant I found better ways to learn, whether by talking to one of our teams Tradesmen, to just sitting there for a while staring at our robot, just taking in as much as I could. The next 2 years, were the best I could have asked for, I learned my role on the team, the one that people will always remember me, as that weird freak with the heavy hat on his head, or the kid with the volcano on his head that couldn’t dance, sure it wasn’t the nicest costume in the world, and sure it caused my head to catch fire (remember kids, don’t stick a large muffin fan on your head w/o some safety precautions :p) and I started meeting people, I started making friends, the one thing that I have never been able to do before and well, not to steal Ken’s thunder or anything but I feel that I need to thank all these people, although I will never actually name them all, I feel that even my small list of great people,