NASA Robotic Mining Competiton

I’m wondering if any FIRST alumni or mentors are involved in the college level NASA Robotic Mining Competiton? Bison Robotics from NDSU is signing up for next year, and I’m interested to hear what FIRSTers think of the competition.

I am a senior high school student this year, but I came across this competition at Case Western Reserve a few weeks ago during a college visit. From what I’ve heard, it seems like an interesting change from FIRST, given that you can spend all year designing a robot that you prepare for a competition where the field and rules are unknown until you get there. I suppose if the opportunity arises in college I may join a team.

I worked heavily with the Iowa State team for 2012 and 2013, it is a fun change of pace from the typical FRC year.

If you do it I urge you to push your comfort zone some, you don’t have to stick to a KOP, use the freedom, you don’t have to adhere to the FRC norms.

-Aren

Ditto (SDSM&T Moonrockers, 2012). The only FRC stuff we used was 775s on the drive–independent. I saw quite a few FRC-type control components, though!

Not on our team, but our programming mentor participates in the DARPA robotics challenge and he (with a team) built a fully autonomous Nissan Xterra (car) that finished 13th out of 196 teams in the Grand Challenge, and now a robot that can travel into disaster sites and perform certain actions (http://www.gritrobotics.co/cog-burn/).

Is Iowa State still part of the program? I’m going to be a freshman there next semester.

Yes they are and they’re really good. Thanks everybody for the comments so far!