Need help minimizing live camera lag

Just to start off this thread, I’d like to say that I’m not a programmer, but I am a driver who would like to help.

For previous games, it has been useful to have a camera for various reasons (most notably gear placement and acquisition), but whenever my team has set up a live feed, it has had ~1 second of lag, and that is very hard to dive with. I have asked the programming lead what the main cause of lag was, and they haven’t given me a clear answer.

I just was wanting to know what the best methods for reducing camera lag you’ve found are. Thanks.

Consider what is happening to create the video stream:

1. The camera captures an image of the field
  2. That image is transfered to a buffer for processing
  3. The image buffer is compressed/encoded for the video stream
  4. The encoded image is transmitted to the driver station
  5. The image is decoded
  6. The image is displayed

The faster these steps complete the lower the latency. Generally speaking the easiest thing you can do to reduce latency is to reduce the size of the captured image. Reducing the resolution of the image will make everything go faster, especially if you can reduce the size of the captured image – reducing the resolution of the captured image.

Find the lowest natively supported resolution of your camera that is usable. Next (perhaps counter intuitively) reduce your frames per second to ~15 – this is to keep your wifi connection happy, remember what works great in your shop, might still not work well in the much more crowded networking environment of a competition. These two steps will get you there most of the time. If you have an AXIS camera or other similar network streaming camera that can do all of this in hardware (and can be adjusted to as listed above), that will generally be faster and simpler to setup, but will also cost more than a cheap usb setup.

Just to add in a few bits.