Needing help with programming

I am a new programmer this year, and I have been watching a lot of youtube videos about programming tutorials for drivetrain and shooter. However, my code did not seem to work even though it says build successfully. I’m overwhelmed because I am the only programmer on the team, and if the robot is not running, we might not be able to compete. If any programmer can give me a hand I would be much appreciated it.

There are a lot of people that are willing to help. However, you need to make it easy to help you.

Some advice:
“It doesn’t work” or “It doesn’t seem to work” is not enough information to help you.

A better approach would be:
“My code builds and deploys successfully to the robot, but when I enable it and try to drive with the controller the robot doesn’t move”.

It would also be more helpful if you could post your code to something like Github where people can take a look at the whole project.

If you’re using Java, and command-based, my first inclination of “robot code not working” is that I’d like to see your default command for your Drivetrain subsystem. The more information you provide, it is much easier to help you.

1 Like

+1 for code in Github. Seeing your code will help us diagnose the issue. Think of it like the vet. If you go to their office and say “My cat doesn’t work!” without bringing your cat or explaining the issue, then you most likely wouldn’t fix said cat.

1 Like

This is a pretty good guide for asking good questions.

As you already have determined, while build successful implies the computer understands your instructions, it doesn’t mean the instructions you gave will accomplish your intent.

The most relevant thing to start with: What is it that you are intending to do. That is to say, if everything works out correctly, what do you expect to happen?