NEW PROGRAMMER - MOTOR PROGRAMMING

Okay so I am a NEW programmer for the LF Robotics team - our old programer went off to college and left me to program this year. I tried for hours to program in a motor to, by the push of button four on the right joystick, start spinning for 5 seconds then by the push of button five on the right joystick it would shut off. I thought this would be simple but I guess I was mistaken. I am programming in java in command base. What do I need to do to complete this task? Also what does double mean - I have been seeing it everywhere in the code. I tried to make up some code by comparing our code from last year and instructions off of wpilib but both programs were completely different and neither worked. Could you also explain to me how to create an autonomous program.

PLEASE help!
THANKS!

For programming in the Command Based Template, I suggest you watch the videos by Brad Miller on the topic: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLYA9eZLlgz7vGUVGkGSvFuyQQ1ErKgeDl

A double is a “double precision floating point” variable. Basically a float, decimal points, but larger to have more decimals of precision.

Good Luck!

Here is an outline of what you need to do to accomplish the goals you have laid out in your post:

1. Create a subsystem to control access to the motor. This class will contain a member variable that is the speedcontroller for the motor, see Jaguar, Victor, or Talon.
  2. Within this subsystem you will create a Java function that will set the motor to a particular speed. Pass the speed as a parameter to the function.
  3. Create a Command that will turn the motor on. Inside the initialize or the execute this will call the function from step 2. In the end and interrupt functions you will want to set the motor speed to zero again by calling the function from step 2.