New VEXpro products

If you didn’t catch FUN Recap last night Paul Copioli from VEX was on and discussed some of the new products coming to VEXpro. Here’s the segment where he discusses them. https://youtu.be/miPyKHc_hgM?t=3044

Plastic is fantastic.

Super stoked for these new products.

Paul made a very intriguing comment about being completely on board with MiniCIMs now a days as opposed to full sized CIMs. It would be cool to see some of the testing they did on the dyno for each style of drivetrain alongside the 2018 product reveal.

Versablocks on 1x1 tube ftw! That’s going to open up a bunch of design options for lightweight mechanisms.

You can look at the data on motors.vex.com and figure it out. It isn’t rocket science… it might be electrical engineering or mechanical engineering or physics though… on second thought, better call Musk and get him on this.

I’m a certified rocket scientist. Can confirm this is not rocket science.

It isn’t about the individual motor performance numbers.

Even at 40 amps the CIM motor has more power than the miniCIM (but by only 30 Watts).

It’s about total system performance and total system current draw. The CIM motors at or near stall just draw a ridiculous amount of current from the battery making the actual voltage at the motors much lower.

I will try to get a system test on our last year’s robot.

Good thing I only had to convince my team to switch. I don’t need to convince you all as you can test it and see for yourself.

Looking at the numbers it seems to have to do with motor performance over time… or at least that’s how I’ve heard others describe it and what I’ve bought into by looking at it myself. I’m far from a rocket scientist though. Something about bearings vs bushings and how heat impacts the motor performance over time.

Not to derail the thread… But question for Paul. Did you ever get your team to do the testing as talked about in this thread? Sorry if you posted it… i may have missed it.