NewBie transitioning from FLL: Vex or FTC

I have been running an FLL team for the last 7 yrs and looking to transition to either FTC or Vex. I have read the posting on this topic from Jul 2011. I want to find out if 2011 posting is still accurate in 2017.
I live in Illinois and plan to run this program (starting with 8th graders) unaffiliated with any school.

Your guidance is greatly appreciated.

Is thisthe thread you’re referring to? If not, please provide a link so everyone answering is on the same page.

I think a lot of what’s in that linked 2011 thread is still basically valid. The competition structures for the two programs haven’t really changed in the last 5 years, relevant to this discussion. There are small changes; 3D printing has expanded parts options in both programs, though FTC still allows a wider set of parts overall, etc.

I’m personally way more familiar with FTC, and know a bunch of the teams and people who run the program in the Midwest. One thing I know is true in FTC there, is there’s a strong community of teams in the IL/WI/IN area, and basically everyone I’ve met out there is fantastic. I don’t know about VEX in that region, but if this sense of community is important to you, I recommend exploring it.

The Illinois FTC site has info on grants for teams, and REC’s site has info for all states, and each of their programs you can filter down. I know the cost situation is complex, but these should help whichever way you opt to go.

Not necessarily on the VEX side.

https://www.vexforum.com/index.php/19984-starstruck-3d-printed-parts/0

3D printed parts are only allowed as non functional decorations in the High School and Middle School levels of the VEX Robotics Competition.

You can 3D print an entire robot on the FTC side of things, and there are multiple FTC teams that have done this.

I stand corrected. It looks like 3d printed parts are only allowed in the college-level VEX U program, and then with size limits, not VRC.