No Bag and Tag vs. Event volunteers

Here is a topic I have not seen discussed much. I have been a volunteer at regional events in MN starting in 2015. I am also a coach of a FRC team and a mentor to another FRC team. With the new no bag rule I will be spending my time from mid February tell my team is done competing working with students on the robot. If one of my teams do a week 6 event I will not be able to volunteer in 2020.
thoughts…:frowning:

For me, I’ll be at the events. I am in a situation where there’s plenty of mentor support, though not necessarily all at the same time. It’s not too hard for us to shuffle a mentor or three around to make sure the shop is covered. I actually took most of 2017 off as a mentor no problem.

I think it’s going to be a mentor-by-mentor decision, based on team needs.

What better place to take inspiration from other teams and their ideas than at an event? What better way to get an up close and personal look at other teams’ robots and mechanisms than by volunteering? Imagine all the insights robot inspectors will gain for their own teams! That’s definitely the case now but there’s not as much you can do with the information… but with no bag I can take things I learn right back to my team.

I actually think there will be more incentive for teams to go to events where they’re not competing when bag and tag is retired. If you’re going to be there anyways… why not do so in a volunteer capacity…

This is one of those things where you can choose to bury yourself if you want to. I’m not totally sure why your team wasn’t already working on weekend during competition season, but no one is making you skip events to be with your team. Your team can work around it, or they can make do without you for those days.

I will say this: I don’t think it would be wise for teams to make drastic schedule shifts* in response to this change.