Non FRC - Database App Help Needed

Hi! So first let me start this is not for FRC but for my chapter in NHS. Im looking for help in designing an android app to log service hours. I need help linking a database online that students could login to, to log thier hours. Looking for someone to help point me and guide me in the direction of where to go. Any help is appeciate. I have basic knowledge of programming through FRC with java and thats about it.

The Android documentation has some good tutorials, and if you’re looking to write your app in Java (or Kotlin), I’d recommend getting started here.

It sounds like you already have a database that you’re trying to connect with, and if that database doesn’t have an external API (i.e. you need to write SQL in order to access the data), you’re likely going to have to host your own intermediate server which will act as a middleman between your app and the database. This isn’t terribly difficult, but could result in some additional hosting expenses (the server has to run somewhere).

After you have a web API, you’ll need to talk to it from your app. I’m sure there are tons of guides you can find online on this subject, but here’s one I just came across.

If you could provide more details about the database setup you’re working with and the requirements of the app, I’d be more than happy to answer any other questions you have!

If you are still looking for the actual database, I’d highly recommend Google Firebase: https://firebase.google.com/

1 Like

Highly recommend Firebase. Good database and some nice data visualization portals on their website. Data visualization will help if you are new at databases or app development (or for experienced users too when debugging!)

Getting started guide in the readme of the Android SDK github page: https://github.com/firebase/firebase-android-sdk

I would stay away from firebase for this one. This one seems like the perfect solution for SQL.