Not allowed to do anything on team

Hello I am a Freshman on an FRC team
And I am actually very experienced at metal work and design. Despite this I have been not allowed to do anything important on the robot. This build season I put in over 180 hours helping the team. However, I still am not being allowed to not do anything. And the team is already choosing who will get the advanced positions. Other freshman are getting the positions. So I am really angered by this and want to know if anyone has experienced this before.

I am looking for a solution. the only thing I have thought of so far is to leave and start my own team.

Well, have you talked to your mentors?
Have you explained your experience?
I don’t think starting your own team is an option. After you are in for a few years you will see why.
Talk to your mentors and upper class men.

However, I still am not being allowed to [not] do anything.

My Edit: However, I still am not being allowed to do anything.

Is my edit correct? I believe you said the exact opposite thing you intended to say.

When you were putting in 180 hours, what were you doing? I’m sure you were doing something, I’m not saying you were just screwing around, I’m just trying to figure out what you mean by “not doing anything” - is it that you were doing one job and wanted to be doing another?

We are obviously only going to be privy to one side of the story here, so it’s possible there are more reasons for what is going on than you may know now, so any advice we give you is going to be inherently limited by that.

Use this to learn an important life skill: Open and honest communication.

Talk to the mentors, talk to upper classmen.

Sometimes, just doing things doesn’t always demonstrate leadership potential.