Off Season T-Shirt Robot Communication Question

Hey Everyone
My name is Colby and it is my first year as a programmer! My team is working on building an offseason T-Shirt cannon (We understand that PVC isn’t rated for pressure) We want to be able to walk around the school field and track but still control the robot. We understand that the best way would be with a laptop and joystick but we do not want to do that because then we will have to carry around a computer!! We would like to use something like an RC car/ airplane remote as the controller, but we need to connect it either directly to the Rio or to the computer and then the robot. If anyone has any suggestions on how to do this it would be greatly appreciated!!!
We are using an extra Rhino Track chassis left over from stronghold as not to compromise our inventory during build season
Thanks in advance,
Colby Kusinitz

One option that keeps with your current control system would be to make a drive station that can be harnessed to the driver. A great source for this is your school’s marching band. Every few years most bands go through and get new harnesses or have to replace one or two, usually because of the mount for the drum itself. You can pretty easily modify this for a driver station. We did this a few years ago, and it turned out like this:

Another way to go about this would be to use a Cheap and Dirty control system from AndyMark where the speed controllers for the drivetrain and any other motorized subsystems are wired directly into the radio receiver.

I’m not sure how one could go about wiring the compressor/solenoid valve I assume you’re using to fire the cannon without using some janky solution.

Might look at the CTRE Hero board, and the wireless game controller option.

I have found that sometimes these projects are sometimes better built without out FRC parts, as they typically have a better chance staying whole through the FRC build season.

http://www.ctr-electronics.com/hro.html