Offsides?!?!?!?

in a match in the quarter finals at UTC New Haven, we almost got disqualified. the ref was yelling, i mean graciously and profesionally warning us that he was gonna disqualify us. we load our balls over the plexiglass shield into our robot. it’s a nice system that almost garantees 10 balls (out of 2 regionals, we only missed one ball) we hit a button when the match starts and 2 seconds later, the basket is right at the edge of the plexiglass and then we just roll the balls in.

here’s the problem, when we were rolling the balls over the edge, our human player’s finger tips broke the plane of the piece of aluminum. i thought we just couldn’t break the plane of the plexiglass. they did take points off of both matches, but fortunatley we still won both of them. please, can someone clear this up for me? is it the aluminum, or the plexiglass that we can’t cross? thanks

Thank you too teams 716 (you had unbelievable power!) and 175 (BUZZ :slight_smile: )

I’m not sure about the ruling, but i’m glad you guys didn’t get D’Qed that would have stunk. You guys were very worthy oppents. I thoguht we had you for a little while. But alas a little bad luck, oh well. Maybe we can work together instead of against each other at Nationals

Chris C.
Team 151
The wildcards
Quaterfinalist at UTC, defeated by 271,175,716

From the game.pdf:
Rule S4. The Students and Mentors must remain in the Alliance station during the match. They may not reach over the playing field.

I found nothing specifing aluminum or plexiglass as the boundary.
I personaly would judge it as breaking the plane of the font side of the barrier, be it Alum or Plexi.
But I am not a judge or referee, so ignore my imterpretaion.:slight_smile:

*Originally posted by Wetzel *
**From the game.pdf:
Rule S4. The Students and Mentors must remain in the Alliance station during the match. They may not reach over the playing field.

I found nothing specifing aluminum or plexiglass as the boundary.
I personaly would judge it as breaking the plane of the font side of the barrier, be it Alum or Plexi.
But I am not a judge or referee, so ignore my imterpretaion.:slight_smile: **

I agree with that interpretation. I think that is what they mean by that rule.

Hi,
As human player to my team I wondered the same thing, I asked the ref, before a match and he said as long as I do not touch the plexiglass it was fine, goign over the plane is acceptable too. I was never dq’d for this or even warned.

here is a pic of me (thought i look like a complete dumbas s. (spaced on purpose) Thought I am not breaking the plexiglass plane , I am easilly breaking the diamond plate plane, so if that helps at all.

toborva0318.jpg


toborva0318.jpg