On compile: "Coff file format for 'ifi_library.o' is out of date."

I read this:
http://www.chiefdelphi.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40036&highlight=ifi_library.o

Though they get the same error it does not seem to address my issue. When ever I try to compile I get this error:

MPLINK 4.02, Linker
Copyright (c) 2006 Microchip Technology Inc.
Error - Coff file format for 'ifi_library.o' is out of date.
Error - Could not build member 'ifi_library.o' in library file 'C:\Documents and Settings\Erik\Desktop\TRC Code\FRC_library.lib'.

I am using versions:

• MPLAB IDE v7.30
  • MPLAB c18 v3.02

I am sorry if this is answered in the post above but I did not understand it if it did. As you may guess I am not a programer myself, I am setting up the laptop for the porgraming team for regionals.

These are all apps that I have downloaded of the net, so maybe I need something that FIRST gave me, though I am not sure.

Any help is appreciated.

You should be using:

MPLab v7.2
C18 v2.4

Newer version aren’t supported.

I will just note that MPLab v7.21 has not given me any problems. It really doesn’t add any functionality, but it’s what I have been using.

The big problem is the compiler, it uses a different binary format for the compiled files in the 3.0 version, whereas the IFI precompiled libraries are built in the old format, so they’re not compatible. I don’t see why they couldn’t include backwards compatibility, it’s not a huge issue but I like to be up to date.

There’s more than that…

My problem is our team is limited on the computers we have to develop software. I am one of the mentors and bring my laptop from work in for our team to use in the evenings. For work I use the MPLAB IDE v7.31 and the MPLAB c18 v3.06. The only way to use the current IFI/USFirst library is to unload my office version of MPLAB/C18 and reload the older software.

Can IFI/USFirst build a library for those users that have the new Microchip MPLAB.

David Barr
Mentor (Programming)