Operator Control Help

I’m a total newbie at programming,

so I want to know how to give motors different speed based on the position of the analog sticks on the xbox 360 Controller (in Mode 1)

and how to use the Right Trigger on the controller(which I mapped to “trigger”), to extend a pneumatic arm when pressed, and retract it when released.

Also how to control a motor using buttons on the controller (one for up, another for down)

Thanks in advance
:smiley:

for the the trigger have an if statement that checks the trigger and the else would release it

use the IFI dachboard to see what the analog sticks on the joystick are and then pull that value into the motors
the code would look like
pwm01=p1_y;
/* this grabs the y axis value of the port 1 joystick and makes the pwm # 1 equal to it

Check out this for now.

I’m in the lab working right now, but if when I get home nobody has answered this in detail, I will address all of your questions :]

You also want to make sure that you are using analog values and that neutral is at 127, meaning nothing is moving, the joysticks are in their normal position. 255 should be max (or at least near it), so going full speed forward. 0 should be your full speed reverse, make sure to calibrate your controller for that.

After that, you can use loops (like while, for, or switch) or conditionals like if, else statements.

Like:

if(pwm01 == 255)
full speed ahead;

of course that’s pseudo code. At www.ifirobotics.com you can find default code for the controller, that already defines all that for you, so you don’t have to worry about doing all that.

Everything that has been said here so far is good advice. A couple extra points:

1. While 127 is “true” neutral for a PWM, there is a dead band where the motors won’t respond. This depends on the motor attached to that PWM and the load attached to the motor, so you have to test your code on the completed mechanisms.